This is the "Select Appropriate Resources" page of the "Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014 URL: http://nyack.libguides.com/content.php?pid=591182 Print Guide RSS Updates

Select Appropriate Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Reference Resources

Each page in this guide includes a section with links to online reference resources for that topic AND a section listing additional titles you can find in print "In the Reference Room" of least one of the three Nyack/ATS libraries.  

 

Hebrew Bible / Old Testament Guide

Thank you for opening the Hebrew Bible / Old Testament Guide

We hope that this guide both introduces the resources for Hebrew Bible/Old Testament studies to beginning researchers and also directs advanced users into deeper investigation through its suggestions and resource lists.

 

Use the navigation links at the left OR the tabs above to select your starting place.


Most of the resources listed are accessible through the Nyack/ATS Libraries.  Other notable online resources will also be listed as appropriate.  Please notify Cheryl Felmlee, the ATS Librarian, to recommend relevant resources you think should be included.

 

Selecting Resources

1. Articulate your present information need/question

Finding a "good" resource may not always suffice, especially if it does not adequately address what you want or need to know.  As you start a research session, stop to ask yourself what you need to understand at this point in your research--both in regard to the extent and level of information you need.  Knowing what you are seeking can help you to select a good source that will also address your need appropriately.  Here are some ideas about that process.

2. Acquaint yourself with resource options in your discipline

   Reference resources <----> Lay foundation

   Books <----> Developed ideas

   Articles <----> Focused presentation

Throughout normal investigative processes, questions take a variety of forms.  This calls for a variety of resources that can address those questions or topics.  With an understanding about the purposes and functions of the various information resource types, you will be able to efficiently select a resource type that addresses (delivers what) you(r) need.

Reference resources - During initial (and even subsequent) stages of research, you may need to refer to basic information in order to develop or enhance your foundational understanding of the topic.

Books - At other times, you will want to search for and engage with ideas and concepts that are presented within a more fully developed context.

Articles- When you want to explore numerous specific facets.

3. Match and apply appropriate resources to your current specific need/question.  THAT'S RESEARCH!

 

Finding Books and E-Books

Books typically present fuller discussions of their themes/ideas/concepts than reference resources or articles.

Due to the various formats and platforms for delivering books (e-books, print, individual, parts of series, etc.), you will need to be aware of the various discovery resources for identifying and locating books that are relevant for your particular search.

ONLINE, i.e. E-BOOKS

(A little explanation about e-books and libraries - While the Nyack/ATS Libraries' collection of e-books is rapidly expanding, one reason that we do not have more is that we face licensing limitations that individuals who purchase and download e-books do not face.  Similar to how it works for individuals, purchasing, accessing, and downloading an e-book does not grant unlimited use of that book by many simultaneous users.  Certain publishers are still working out with library e-book suppliers how to permit libraries to purchase or license access to an e-copy of a book that can be loaned, returned, and loaned again.  As more content becomes available to us, we can make it available to you.)

The Quick Links on this page lists the library's e-book sources.

 IN THE LIBRARY

Search the library catalog using keywords for broader searches or more focused searches (e.g. subject terms, words in title, author's name, or call number) to see what we have.  Use the Quick link on this page.

Broadening Your Search

Search the library catalog at institutions (e.g. University of Pennsylvania, the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago, etc.) that you know are strong in the field you are researching.  

Search WorldCat, the MOST comprehensive online catalog of the world's literature.   

Request books that Nyack/ATS does not own through our interlibrary loan service.

 

Library Info

 

Resource Glossary

Reference - resources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, or handbooks that organize information on general or specialized topics in a succinct manner for quick dicovery and effective retrieval.

Database - a searchable complation of data designed to help researchers identify potentially useful resources; typically focuses on a specific resource type (e.g. articles) and/or discipline or subject area.  May also include direct links to full text of the resources described.  Scope and parameters for inclusion are determined by the content provider (e.g. ATLA or OTA publishers) and can be reviewed in the database Helps. 

Database host - agents such as EBSCO and ProQuest that provide searchable access to a group of hosted databases.

Serials - publications published in multiple components.

Periodicals - serials that are published at regular intervals, e.g. quarterly, annually, etc.

Journals - scholarly periodicals with a defined subject focus.

Peer-reviewed - articles that have undergone a review process [to validate the scholarship prior to publication]

Magazines - popular periodicals.

 

Finding articles

Select the Find Articles in Databases tab of this guide for some suggestions for becoming more efficient and effective in searching for and discovering relevant articles through the library's databases.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip